Heart Seasons

“Heart Seasons: The Rainbow Revelation” –  Fiction inspired by real life events.

Heart Seasons Cover




Available in Kindle eBook and Paperback.

Book Excellence Award


Have you ever felt like God was whispering to you? I have! One sunny day in the spring of 2012, I was sitting in my favorite comfy chair, writing in my journal. From out of the blue, I began experiencing a sensation I had never felt before. I felt a calming warmth in my heart and all of a sudden, I started writing down ideas on the blank pages in my notebook, one after the other, that just came to me. It was like a message from my heart that comes and goes to this day.

I was receiving inspiration to tell a story from my personal journals. The first thing I wrote down was its title, Heart Seasons. It would be a fictional story based on different seasons from my own real life. Each season of the novel would be defined by the colors of the rainbow. There would be seven seasons in the colors red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. The thought intuitively came to me that the seven bands of color perfectly symbolize my heart as it opens to God’s love and becomes whole. This event was truly an extraordinary “God Thing.”

Consumed with curiosity, I quickly picked up my laptop and began learning what each of the colors represents. To my surprise, the meaning of the colors correlated with the seasons I had visualized and written down only moments ago. I was instantly able to understand the connection between each color and the seasons of my heart.

On that amazing spring day, I embraced what I call “The Rainbow Revelation” as God’s plan for me to tell the story of my journey. I knew it would open with the deaths of two immediate family members and close with me experiencing a renewed and blessed way of living in God’s love after surviving a life threatening medical crisis of my own.

The rainbow, a sign of God’s mercy and love, often appears after a storm. Many of us have weathered storms and the peace we can experience following the turmoil is a result of the miracles only God can perform. His love endures forever.

The first season of this saga is red and is the highest arc of the rainbow. The color red is an emotionally intense color and indicates strength and perseverance. It epitomizes my family members and me entering into the most devastating storm of our lives.

Violet is the seventh position of the rainbow and in the meaning of colors, violet represents the future, our dreams and faith.

Before this glorious revelation, I simply admired rainbows, but now I see them as a smile from God that reassures me I’m traveling down the right path. Whenever I see a rainbow, it is a reminder of God’s faithfulness.

This is my story and it’s my privilege to share my “Journey of Miracles” with you!

Lily Marie Eastbrook Rhodes

+     +     +

“For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven. . . .”
(Ecclesiastes 3:1-8, NLT)



Seagul Storm Watercolor

“We quietly watched as a flock of seagulls floated gracefully on the wind, while a small group of beachcombers carefully searched the sand, scavenging for hard to come by treasures.”

Lily Eastbrook Rhodes

“I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth.
When I send clouds over the earth, the rainbow will appear in the clouds, and I will remember my covenant with you and with all living creatures.
Never again will the floodwaters destroy all life.
When I see the rainbow in the clouds, I will remember the eternal covenant between God and every living creature on earth.”
Genesis 9:13-16, NLT


Finalist Seal


Heart Seasons – The Rainbow Revelation by Dianna Donnely is a message from the heart. Meet Lily Marie Eastbrook Rhodes. Lily is a devoted wife, loving daughter, and a loyal, hardworking, career-minded woman. After a set of very unfortunate events, namely “career-stressed” illnesses, Lily and her husband, Ryan, move back to her beloved hometown of Beachville, OR. After returning home, a list of new worries begins to surface. Through each tragic circumstance of Lily’s life, God makes Himself known. Time and time again, Lily recognizes another “God Thing” occurrence in her life. After a time of soul searching, Lily realizes that God moved her to her childhood hometown to discover Him. “If you’re looking for it, God shows up in the simplest ways to let you know He’s there.”

Dianna Donnely pens a testimonial of faith in Heart Seasons – The Rainbow Revelation. Donnely sets the stage by preparing the reader with insights into the colors of the rainbow spectrum. Each of the colors represents a season of the heart for her main character. The theme of God’s covenant promise flows throughout the narrative. Written in first person, the story is told through the heroine. In the beginning of the novel, the writing style is a bit choppy, but before long, a gentle rhythm develops and I found myself immersed in the life of the main character. How much can one family take? The conflicts are heart-wrenching and real, yet the resolve of the characters to carry on is astonishing. My favorite line: “It’s not how you begin your life that matters, it’s how you choose to make the journey.” This statement is profoundly true. Heart Seasons reveals the patient, ever-presence of God. His ways and His timing are perfect, and truly “God gives us grace for the season we are in.” Cheryl E. Rodriguez for Readers’ Favorite

Click HERE to Read Additional Reviews

PERSONAL NOTE: For those of you who have been following me since the beginning, “Heart Seasons” is a rework and continuation of “The Gray Season.” After miraculously surviving a spontaneous medical crisis that involved brain trauma, I awoke with a new vision for my books. “Heart Seasons: The Rainbow Revelation” is the new version of my spiritual, inspirational fictional novel based on real life events and is the beginning of that blessed vision.Easy Real Food Recipes Hearts Only Logo

Dianna’s Easy Real Food Recipes Blog